Chocolate!

I’m happy to let you all in on a little secret. If you are looking for a way to allow yourself more chocolate AND you need fuel for running, biking or whatever keeps you active, then you are going to be excited to hear that Island Boost‘s newest flavor is chocolate!

chocolate-PR-indiegoo

Why is this so exciting you may ask? Well first, if you haven’t already tried Island Boost as a training fuel, then I highly encourage you to check out my previous post. Some of the highlights that make Island Boost differs from traditional fuels on the market:

-doesn’t upset you stomach
-liquid, not a thick gel or gummy you have to chew
-no additional water needed to use
-faster fuel (hits the bloodstream quicker)
-natural ingredients (I can actually pronounce and know what each item actually is)

So back to this idea of chocolate Island Boost. I first heard the idea mentioned on twitter, and while I thought, “ohh cool, a new flavor of Island Boost,” I honestly wasn’t thinking much about it. Reason being is I am not a huge fan of many of the chocolate flavored fuels currently on the market. Most taste fake to me…chocolate flavor vs actual chocolate (of course I can tell the difference, don’t they realize this!). As a taste tester for Island Boost in the past, I was asked to again participate in testing of this new flavor. I enjoy providing honest feedback to companies that listen, so of course I said yes.

This is when I began to really believe in this stuff. Chocolate Island Boost actually tastes like (and is made of) real chocolate. I’m talking Ghirardelli or Godiva level chocolate here! Also, there are only 70 calories per serving (one packet) and it still has the same great consistency of their other products that I find so much easier to consume while being active.

Chocolate is a super food (loaded with antioxidants, magnesium and potassium), but it unfortunately poses some challenges in terms of getting FDA certifications for manufactures. Their hope is that you will love the idea of Chocolate Island Boost and can help get this into stores across America. I personally love Island Boost frozen, since the coconut water in Island Boost doesn’t freeze completely, turning it into a slushy, which I find refreshing and the perfect way to refuel on a hot training day. Imagine grabbing a frozen Chocolate Island Boost not just for athletic fuel, but as a good-for-you, guilt-free treat – like a healthy fudgesicle!

So who can benefit from chocolate Island Boost?
-Athletes who want to improve their performance during workouts and competition
-Anyone who wants a caffeine-free and stimulant-free boost of energy during the day
-Individuals who cannot process wheat gluten and are dealing with symptoms related to Celiac Disease
-Chocaholics
-Individuals interested in products not made with artificial sweeteners (most sports nutrition products use maltodextrin – we employ natural glucose and fructose as our source carbs to fuel athletes)
-Individuals who have sensitive stomachs (many people experience nausea, vomiting or diarrhea when using the major brands of endurance fuels)

But in order to make chocolate Island Boost a reality, they need your help. You can essentially pre-order the product here by participating in their Indigo campaign. It’s a win/win because you can help a small fish in a market of giants AND you get some of the delicious chocolate Island Boost to use in your training.

Posted on October 16, 2013, in Biking, Fitness, Great Products, Nutrition, Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I agree! I most appreciate that it kicks in right away and that it never upsets my stomach. I joined and followed the indiegogo campaign because I like the idea of being a part of this.

  2. I was amazed at the awesome chocolate flavor in the new Island Boost myself… it’s really quite a revelation!

  3. Great write up. I’ve been running with Island Boost as my primary fuel for 7 months now and wouldn’t dare use a gel now. No stomach issues,no gagging or water chasers, and the promise of Chocolate! I too got a sample and the flavor is premium, can’t wait.

  4. The chocolate Island Boost is amazing isn’t it?! I especially loved how it tasted like real chocolate and not some random flavoring. Great review!

  5. Great read! As an official ambassador for Island Boost, I get super excited to see others standing up for a great product! Thank you so much for spreading the word!

  6. Great review! Island Boost has changed running for me and the chocolate flavor is so delicious. I can’t wait for it to be available on the market!!

Leave a Reply

