Time for Filling up the Freezer

After years of depending on other people to fill my freezer with meat (and fish), I decided this year it was time to take matters into my own hands. I took the hunter safety course at Halls and got my conservation (aka bowhunters) license for CT.

photo

R and his dad have hunted the same farm in Rhode Island for years, so I went ahead and got my RI license, as well, so I could join them. Unlike Connecticut that does not allow hunting on Sundays, you are able to hunt 7 days a week in RI. It just so happened that RI opening day was a Sunday this year, so the three of us made a plan to go.

We headed out late afternoon, as we knew it would take some time to figure out where to put me since a tree stand was out of the question (I’m terrified of heights). R decided to walk me in, so he could set me up on a rock wall just outside a large field. As we were walking in, we spooked a buck which was chowing down on some food.

photo 1

Once we got to my spot, R showed me where the deer would come out from the woods into the field, so I would be able to properly set myself up to get a shot within 30 yards. Not 10 minutes later, a heard the gobbling of turkeys, followed by a group of 11 coming out of the woods in the exact spot he had said the deer would. I grabbed my rangefinder and saw they were right around 18.5 yards, a perfect bow shot! Unfortunately, bc of the license and tags I had in CT, I wasn’t allowed to shoot them, but they kept me entertained as they meandered across the field.

About 30 minutes later I could hear rustling in the woods behind me. I turned slowly, to make sure I didn’t spook whatever was there, but I couldn’t see anything. As the sounds got closer, I was finally able to make out a doe. I watched as it got closer, finally stopping at 30 yards from me. It was a good size doe, but I knew I would not be able to shoot it with it coming up from behind me. I held still and the deer continued to work its way closer to me.

photo 2

Finally, when it was about 15 yards away, it noticed me and looked me right in the eyes. I held still and it inched closer. I tried not to blink, but I don’t think I was doing a very good job. It got within arms length of me before stopping again and just staring at me. I fully expected it to take off running back into the woods at this point, but surprisingly, it just slowly wandered off in the other direction.

I was bummed that I wasn’t able to get a shot on it, but WOW, what a cool experience! Also, at this point I was pretty excited knowing that within an hour I had seen a buck, turkeys and a large doe. I figured it was definitely my night, and I was going to walk out with a kill my first time hunting.

Unfortunately, not long after this thought went through my head, I heard the sound of dirt bikes ripping through the woods, and I knew it was all over. After 20 minutes of them tearing up the paths, I didn’t see another animal the rest of the night, with the exception of a cute little chipmunk that tried to make friends with me by bringing me a tiny apple.

Even though I would have loved to have gotten something, it was a beautiful night with perfect weather, so I really couldn’t complain.

photo 3

Posted on September 25, 2013, in Archery, New Activity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

