Why I quit my job

I’ve tried to write this post for about a week now, but I have struggled with what exactly I wanted to say.

tumblr_mdhoknKXFB1qz6ffro1_500

After 5 1/2 years of sitting in front of a computer everyday (the exact reason I decided not to pursue math beyond my bachelor’s degree), I realized that it was time to really go for it and take a leap. I have always been a low risk, follow the “correct” path type of person. To me, it was a big jump to leave my PhD program with just a Masters. That was my big rebel moment, though in reality I realize it was simply a smart calculation.

let-people-feel-bad-guilty-life

I think many of us live in this mentality. We do the “right” thing, following on the path we started years ago because we want to provide for our family, not let others done, or are simply afraid of the unknown. We hear stories of friends traveling the world or working with underprivileged children, and we think how awesome what they are doing is…deep down knowing WE could never do something like that.

To-dream-by-night-is-to-escape-your-life.-To-dream-by-day-is-to-make-it-happen

I believe this is one area that the economic downturn did benefit us as a society. Without traditional options available to them, many young people are able to explore alternate life plans. Yes, some are just freeloading off their parents or friends, but I’ve seen many pursuing things they love, but never dreamed would be a possibility. Those of us with “regular” jobs need to learn something from them.

FearisExcitement_zazzle

I’m not saying we all need to quit our jobs and hang out in the forest, but we do need to take risks and enjoy life. That could mean anything from trying an open mic night, vacationing outside of a resort, or taking a class/learning something you’ve always wanted to learn. By doing so, we not only benefit ourselves, but I believe society. When we challenge ourselves on a regular basis we begin to think about the world differently, which in and of itself makes us more creative.

You may think your current job doesn’t require creativity, but where does the next great idea come from? How do you streamline processes or eliminate errors? This country needs more innovators and thinkers and that doesn’t happen by doing the same thing day in and day out; eating, working, sleeping, repeat.

1402

As tough as it was for me to leave my steady paycheck and benefits, I know I made the right decision. It is time for me to challenge myself and to finally take the alternate path. Will archery make me rich or allow me to save big for retirement? No. Will it give me opportunities I could have never experienced working as an economist? You bet! As much as I have goals based on performance, my REAL goals for the year are to challenge myself and grow as a person.

What am I most looking forward to? I’m excited to get more fresh air, to balance training, travel and family life. Am I saying my life is going to be all rainbows and unicorns now that I left my job? Not a chance, as now I will be living on a very tight budget, have to regularly practice in less than ideal weather conditions (just in the week since I quit, I’ve shot in extremely high humidity and a downpour), and travel alone on a regular basis. Ultimately, though, I am excited to be my own boss, to set my own schedule and to finally not have to sit in front of a computer for 10+ hours a day!

enjoy-life-its-just-one

Now get out there, try something new and enjoy your life!!!

 

 

 

Posted on September 16, 2013, in Archery and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Awesome post. I love the first quote. I have the same one on my blog I did when I attempted to hike/backpack from Mexico border to Canada. I’m just getting into archery, and I’m so glad I found your blog. You have a great story. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

