Where is my mechanic when I need one?

After getting back from Nationals, I planned an easy week of shooting. Once I saw the forecast, that easy week quickly changed to a virtual “off” week from shooting. Every single day was supposed to be high 90s, with extremely high humidity…my favorite, NOT!

I couldn’t even step outside for two seconds without getting drenched with sweat, so I figured, I would relax INDOORS for most of the week. I did brave shooting outside one evening for a quick 36 arrows, however, on my second shot of the night, my rest snapped. Yes, I’ve had this happen before, as it is common over time…think basic wear and tear, but now I started thinking about my last two rounds at the US Open.

photo

Obviously, the blade had been softening in that spot, which could have been enough to change my shot. I knew it wasn’t likely the cause of my shots being unpredictable, as I assume they would have all been off by the same amount due to a faulty rest. Either way, it was a wake up call to me that I need to do a better job checking my equipment on a regular basis to make sure it is in good, working condition.

Fast forward to Saturday, and it’s the annual Nutmeg State Games, which also serves as the CT state championship for residents. It was the 25th anniversary of the games, which include something like 12 teams sports and 12 individual sports, one being archery.

Shooting began and I felt very off. My shots were not predictable, and I began to think it was due to a lack of practice all week. However, I got frustrated bc I felt like I was making good shots, I didn’t feel like I was struggling with the bow. In fact, I would shot what felt like two virtually identical shots, yet one would be a 10 high left and the next would be a 8 right. I just kept feeling like nothing made sense. Luckily, I was still able to easily take the win, so I didn’t have that to worry about.

photo-1I went to Hall’s directly from the tournament, since it was on the way home, to get my new America’s Best strings and cables put on my bow (aren’t they pretty!). Once those were on and we were realigning my peep sight, it became obvious that something was off with my sight.

After some investigation, we realized that my scope was in bad shape, and by that I mean broken so it moved during/after every shot. A little background, when I bought the scope it had a slight spider crack, where the bolt is, but I was assured that was normal and it wasn’t a problem. For awhile now, I had been saying that it was getting worse, but this fell on deaf ears, so I just kept shooting with it. I didn’t realize it was as bad as it ended up being, however.

So once again I learned my lesson that I need to pay closer attention to my equipment AND I need to get people to listen when I think I have a problem. And guess what happened the next day when I was out shooting? The arrows actually went where I expected them to go! Imagine that, with a new scope and rest, it was amazing that I could actually shoot my bow properly again and look like I knew what I was doing. I don’t want to place blame on equipment failure, but at least I know deep down I wasn’t shooting as poorly as my scores were showing.

Posted on July 24, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

