Another one bites the dust

At the conclusion of qualification day, all senior and junior women were placed together for elimination rounds. Unfortunately, I ended up right smack dab in the middle, so while I didn’t have to face a top ranked opponent (as I did in AZ), I was up against the girl who had shot nearly an identical score to mine on qualification day. I knew this match would be a challenge once I learned my opponent was Emily Bee. Last year as cadet, she was a top ranked archer, a member of the national team and holds some scoring records for that division.

Elimination rounds consist of head to head battle, with 5 ends of 3 arrows, totaled for a score where winner moves on and loser is done for the tournament. Because my first match would be in the 1/16 round (same round I lost in last time), I was determined to win, so I could at least say I’d improved in that way. However, if I did win, I would be matched up against the top ranked archer, Erika Jones!

We started our match, and my first arrow was an 8. I knew I had felt too calm, but now the nerves were there, as I knew I’d being playing catchup. I focused and shot well for my next two shots. Emily had the lead, but I knew I had 4 more ends to catch her. Overall, I shot well the remainder of the match, so I ended up matching her score by the end. We both had shot a 141 (just one point less than my highest elimination score), so I was happy.

Screen Shot 2013-05-10 at 3.47.14 PM

This, however, meant time for a one arrow, closest to the center shoot off. Unfortunately, neither of us had a great shot, with both of us shooting 9s. Hers ended up closer to the center, giving her the tie breaking win and the opportunity to continue on for the day. I was bummed I had lost, but then I looked at the other scores on the field. Not only did I have the highest score (by 7 points) of any of the losers, but I had actually beaten 5 of the 8 winners. I realized I couldn’t be upset by that. The only upsetting thing was knowing had I gotten 9th (in senior women division) after qualification instead of 8th, I would have moved on to the next round.

Good news for me, however, is that your arrow average is 1/3 of your national ranking points, so the fact that I had shot well and lost would benefit me when it comes time for trying to make the national team. I knew I had held my own against a top competitor, so even though it was a short end to the day, I was still proud of what I had accomplished. Now was time to rest and get ready for the world game trials that would be held the following day.

Posted on May 14, 2013, in Archery and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

