Review Week: Organix

So far this week, I have reviewed products that are for your kitchen, your energy levels and your stomach, but I haven’t covered anything related to skin care. Today, I have the pleasure of reviewing for you Organix‘s (yes you have probably heard of their hair care line) new line of bath a body products.

Currently they have 4 different products available including, cherry blossom, moroccan argan oil, coconut milk and teatree peppermint, all with their own scents and benefits for your skin. I was asked to review the Organix Soothing Teatree Peppermint Collection products, which includes:
0

 
1. A Calming Body Lotion

and

2. A Cooling Body Wash

 

Ingredients for the two products include Teatree, Peppermint Extract, Sugar Cane, Willow Bark, Rice Milk and Bamboo Extract.

 

I’ve used hair products that contain teatree peppermint in the past, and I have always loved the way they smell. You get a relaxing scent that is also refreshing at the same time. I was hoping these two products would provide me with a similar smell and they did not disappoint.

I don’t know about you, but the two most important things for me when selecting lotions and body washes are 1)ingredients and 2)scent. So far that makes Organix two for two in my book. Moving a little deeper, not only do Organix products consist of natural ingredients, but they are packaged in eco-friendly bottles made from recycled, post-consumer resin. They go further by printing all their labels utilizing environmentally friendly inks and compostable label film. Organix also prides itself on the fact that is has never (and will never) test on animals.

So now that you know all the good stuff about the company, how did I actually like the body wash and lotion you may ask. Well let me just say, winter is the perfect time of year for me to test these products. No matter what I do, I end up with dry, scaly looking skin, especially if I am active and working out all winter long. Some products work better than others, but nothing totally eliminates this, so I couldn’t wait to see how the Organix stacked up against the competition.

First up was the lotion. During the cold months of winter, I lotion up straight out of the shower, when my legs are still warm and damp to get the best retention. As I’ve already mentioned the smell alone of the lotion was awesome, so I wasn’t afraid to go out in public right after lathering up (not the case for other products). I also liked the consistency of the lotion, it wasn’t too oily/greasy, but it also wasn’t too thick. It easily came out of the bottle and rubbed into my legs without a problem. I was also able to simply rub my hands together afterwards, no need to wipe the access off. After using this for a couple of weeks now, I would say this is one of the better products I’ve used. Although the scaliness did return to my legs, it was definitely a good portion of the day before this happened and I never reached the crazy itching phase I get when my skin gets too dry.

Turning to the body wash, it had a virtually identical scent to the lotion, which I was happy about. Too many times, I find two products of the same scent smell very different. I hate this because then if I use the body wash for my shower, I feel like I am layering on multiple scents when I then put lotion on after getting out. Luckily, this was not the case with the Organix line. Much like the lotion, I felt the body wash had the perfect consistency; not too watery but not too soapy either. I used it many times after a tough workout and I left the shower feeling clean…again not something I can say for all “good smelling” body washes. I also noticed no irritations or other problems, as I have from other scented washes in the past. In fact, I would say this lotion was more similar to a bar of soap in terms of how my skin felt afterwards.

Overall I would say I was very happy with both products and the company behind them. And last but not least, I am happy to say these products will be available at your local Target, CVS, Walgreens, etc (in addition to online).

Posted on January 10, 2013, in Fitness, Great Products, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

