EnergyBits: worth the hype?

Virtually anyone who is active in the online fitness community on twitter has probably heard of EnergyBits by now. You may have seen hashtags such as #poweredbybits, read reviews on SkinnyBits or seen twitter chats sponsored by @energybits. After seeing a lot of positive responses by people who had tried the product, I was intrigued. I went to their website to get more information on what exactly EnergyBits were all about.

Once on their website, I became very interested. As I’ve mentioned in the past, I fully admit to not getting my share of vegetables daily. I’ve worked on increasing the number I eat, but there are very few I like, making it tough to get enough in daily. I know they are important for my health, as well as my fitness goals, so I am always looking for alternative sources for nutrients. EnergyBits sounded like a great solution for me; they contain 100% spirulina algae and are loaded with 40 nutrients! Now I knew it was something I had to try.

I contacted Jonathan, the brand manager for EnergyBits, and he was happy to send me a sample to try and out test.

photo

Overall these were my impressions:
-I didn’t really notice a big difference in terms of how I feel after using the product(esp in terms of more afternoon energy, which is when I typically struggle), but with basically a 1.5 serving size sample it’s hard to accurately judge.

-as someone who doesn’t eat a lot of vegetables, I see huge nutritional benefit in regularly taking the product

-i love the to-go nature and being able to carry them with me for an added boost throughout the day…they come with a cute travel tin pictured above (think Altoids)

-however, my one big issue is the delivery method. i have always been someone who struggles with swallowing pills and I find I start gagging after swallowing about 10 of these. The most I was ever able to get down at one sitting was about 17 (but very difficult). I tried chewing about 6-10, so I could get a full serving size, but this was not pleasant. The bitter taste remained in my mouth even after eating and drinking something (finally resorted to brushing my teeth and that seemed to work). So my main suggestion would be to make a pill type option, which would be the size of maybe 3 of the regular bits. This way I could swallow 10 pills, equaling about 30 bits, the recommended amount.

IMG_3750

-One thing I didn’t get to try with the limited sample, but I’d like to in the future, is adding the bits to a smoothie or blended drink. I’m hoping this would remove the need for swallowing large amounts…just hoping the flavor of fruits, etc can overpower the taste because it was very very strong (and not in a good way).

Overall for me, I’d have to say the jury is still out. I do think this product could be great for me, but I’m just not ready to fork over the $115 for just over a months supply. The limited sample was enough for me to recognize I could not take the product in its recommended does unless I figure out a new delivery method, yet not enough for me to truly notice any changes in my energy level, mood, appetite, etc.

For those of you interested in learning more about EnergyBits (or their other products), head on over to their website here.

QOTD
-What do you do when you don’t feel like you were adequately able to judge a product from a sample?
-Any ideas on how I can get 30 of these little guys down at one time?

Posted on January 9, 2013, in Nutrition, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Can I just copy and post this review on my blog? 🙂
    I had the same thoughts when I tried their sample. I love sushi, so the seaweed taste wasn’t a huge deterrent for me to chew them, but that led to bits stuck in my teeth (pun totally intended 🙂 ).

    Looking forward to seeing some comments from those that have tried them for an extended period of time, though.

Leave a Reply

