New Activity for the New Year: Kettlebell

Hey there Fun2Race readers! I’m Kat and I blog over at Katalyst Health. My blog follows my daily adventures in fitness and health as well as my quest to become the best me possible (and all the ups and downs along the way!). Crystal asked for some new perspectives on fitness, so I thought I’d share my go-to fitness tool with you guys!

0

Activity/Sport: Kettlebell!

When/why did you start? I started a few years back. My sister was in town and her friend (who is a certified kettlebell trainer) invited her to a morning workout. Me being the fitness obsessed freak that I am, asked to tag along. The 45 minute workout she took us through wasn’t even that tough on my lungs, but my entire body was shaking by the time we left. We went to lunch after and I could barely lift the fork into my mouth! From then on I was hooked.

What do you enjoy about it/what keeps you doing it? I love the simplicity. No machines, no cables, no changing weight plates. Jut a bell. Give me my kettlebell and 20 minutes, and I will be one happy, sweaty girl.

What do you wish others knew? That it literally works EVERYTHING. You have to use your entire body during most of the moves, and you don’t even realize it. I do tabata training with alternating types of kettlebell swings, and the next day my abs are sore, even though I didn’t do any core work! They just work everything, there really is no need for anything else.

What is the best way to get started? I would recommend trying it with a trainer first. There are some great instructional dvds out there as well, but having someone help you and show you how to use the bell properly is really helpful.

Would you do anything different if you knew what you know now? Ya I would’ve invested my money into more kettlebells instead of the countless dumbbells sitting on my garage floor. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good dumbbell session, but my kettlebells hold a special place in my heart. Plus, I can travel with them!

Do you race/compete or just do it for fun? Everything I do fitness wise is to get in shape for soccer. I play twice a week, and am always trying to improve my game, so every time I hit the garage for a workout, I have the soccer field in mind.

Favorite memory/story to share. I work in the youth department at my church in the high school group and I had the girls over one night for a movie night. We were all sitting there in the living room and one of my girls grabbed my kettlebell and was like “wow this is heavy! Kat is this your’s or your husbands?” I told her it was mine, and she made me prove it. I ended up doing a mini kettlebell workout right there in front of my high school girls. They looked at me like I was the She Hulk. And I loved every minute of it!

Random Statistics/Anything else you would like to share. Kettlebells take some training to get the proper form down, but once you have the form down, they really do ramp up your workouts. Not only are your muscles going to be exhausted, but your heart is going to be pumping like crazy, especially once you learn the snatch!

Thanks for letting me take over for the day Crystal! I hope you guys learned a little bit about kettlebell and give them a try. I promise you it will be one of the best workouts you ever have!

Want more kettlebell workouts/info?
BLOG: www.katalysthealthblog.com
TWITTER: https://twitter.com/Katalysthealth

button

Posted on December 19, 2012, in Fitness, New Activity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

