Still looking for the perfect stocking stuffer?

With less than two weeks to Christmas I can easily put you into one of two camps; either you are completely done with all your christmas shopping OR you haven’t even started. No matter which camp you are in, you can benefit from this review.

Last month I started noticing people talking about a “handana,” and I was intrigued to learn more. Lucky for me, when I contacted the company to learn more they were kind enough to send me one to review and one to give away to a lucky reader (stay tuned for more info!). The first thing I had noticed on their website was ALL the color choices. I mean seriously I don’t know how someone can choose just one…

photo-6

 

 

So when my handana came in the mail, I couldn’t wait to see which color I had gotten. I was pleasantly surprised to find both an all black and a teal with black! One was a size small and one was a size medium, and while I figured I was a small, I decided to try both to make sure I got the correct size. This is where I have great news for you if you want to buy one as a gift. While I noticed a difference in the two sizes when trying them on back to back, I honestly don’t think you can go wrong on size.

 

 

The handana is made with a stretchy material, so it easily fits your hand no matter what shape or size, so while yes you can get a one that fits a little better than the other, I don’t think the difference (especially if don’t have two sizes to compare with) would be enough to make it feel like it doesn’t fit. Before even getting to try the product in action, I was already excited. I hate trying to guess sizes for my friends and family when buying gifts, so I had initially been worried about the handana coming in multiple sizes. After trying it on, I am confident that size would not be an issue when ordering for others!

So now it was time to put the handana to the test. What initially drew me to this product was it reminded me of my cycling gloves that get pretty disgusting by the end of a long ride. I wipe my blood, sweat, tears (and yes my nose) on them, but they keep my clothes clean and prevent sweat from getting in my eyes. I thought of the handana as a cycling glove for ALL activities and boy was a right!

photo-1

I first used the handana on a run. It was a shorter, high intensity workout where I knew there would be a lot of sweating involved. What I found was the handana was like second nature, I didn’t even think about it being on my hand, yet at the end of the run it was definitely covered in sweat from using it. I personally love a product that just works without you have to remember to use it or thinking about it while you are in the middle of a workout and the handana was just that.

My next test was to use it on my indoor trainer. I do not wear cycling gloves or a helmet indoors (unless trying to use the rollers 🙂 ), so I find sweat in the eyes to be a major issue on the trainer. I’ve tried using a towel, but I find it cumbersome and difficult to use when you are really pushing in a hard interval. The handana on the other hand, worked perfectly for on the trainer. I could easily take on hand off the bars and wipe my forehead quickly, there wasn’t an issue of trying to “soak” up the sweat or it just being pushed around. The handana efficiently removed the sweat and let me keep pedaling hard without anything getting in my eyes. I even took it a step forward and used it to wipe my arms that had also become a mess of sweat.

photo

As someone who sweats a lot, I expected the handana to work well at the beginning, but I figured it would quickly “fill” with my sweat, then rendering it virtually useless. To my surprise this wasn’t the case, even when I used it on the trainer for more than just head sweat. I have one more idea for the handana, but I haven’t gotten a chance to try it out yet. I know it will fit OVER my cycling gloves since it stretches, so I think it might be an option to help me avoid having to wash my cycling gloves after EVERY ride. I think it would be much easier to have a couple handanas (in various colors of course), and wash those after each ride vs the gloves.

Overall, I have to say this is definitely one of the best products I have tested, and I highly recommend them. You can visit the handana website for more information, but with Christmas just around the corner I suggest you stock up on these for gifts (whether for others or yourself). And if keep following along with my blog, you might even get the chance to win one (hint, hint).

QOTD
-have you heard of handana before this post?
-have you tried one yourself-what did you think?
-what would you like to know more about, did I miss something in my review?

Disclosure: I was not compensated for this post, however I was supplied with a handana to review. Opinions are completely my own.
Posted on December 15, 2012, in Biking, Fitness, Great Products, Review, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. What is your opinion of handana’s instead of cycling gloves. I can’t find a glove I like, and these actually look like a good idea.

  2. hmmm, that is a tough one. I guess it depends on what you use/want cycling gloves for. You aren’t going to have any of the cushioning of a cycling glove in the palm area, but in terms of something to protect against road rash and somewhere to wipe snot or sweat it would work great 🙂 Personally, I think the handana would be great in the summer, when I find my hands get very hot and sweaty wearing cycling gloves.

  1. Pingback: Crystal Fun2Race » Handana Giveaway for Christmas

Leave a Reply

