New Activity for the New Year: Skiing

I have always been afraid of skiing. I’m not sure why, but I think it stems from my fear of heights. I know many, many people who LOVE to ski and it is a great form of exercise, so I am happy that Deb (check out her blog here) was willing to tell you more about skiing and how to get started!

Activity/Sport: Downhill Skiing

When/why did you start? I started when I was in 4th or 5th grade since my brothers were old enough to begin. My mom had always skied, and taught my dad when they met. It was finally time for us kiddos to begin.

What do you enjoy about it/what keeps you doing it? It’s a great way to keep active during the cold winter months. I love the views from the top of the mountain, spending quality time with my husband & friends and the rush after doing something I never thought I was capable of.

At the top of Jay Peak, VT

What is the best way to get started? Take lessons!! Don’t let your friends teach you unless they are instructors, especially when you’re an adult, it’s easy for all parties to get frustrated. Get yourself to the mountain, get your rentals and enroll in some lessons, everyone will have a better day because of it.

Would you do anything different if you knew what you know now? I would have taken lessons when we moved to VT. I didn’t and I wasn’t a fun skier the first year. I was wussy. But my husband dragged me down trails and eventually I got more confidence. I was scared at the top of Blue trails (intermediate), now I will go down almost anything and I ski in the trees. If you asked me when we moved to VT in 2009 if I would do that I would have laughed in your face.

Can you find me?

Favorite memory/story to share. We traveled to Whistler in 2011. It was just the two of us sharing something completely awesome. That was the year I got better, I skied 50 some odd days (that’s what happens when you work nights.. you drive to the mountain during the day and earn your turns). The year I stopped holding myself back. Whistler was the crowning achievement of that winter. We went at the end of April, but the snow couldn’t have been better, I skied on a glacier and in a bowl. Something I don’t think I ever imagined myself doing. It was beautiful out there!

Isn’t Whistler beautiful?!

Random Statistics/Anything else you would like to share. I didn’t ski last year because I was pregnant, I am so excited to get back out there and ski. I’m also really excited to teach my daughter to ski in a couple of years! Smuggler’s Notch has a mommy & me/daddy & me ski program which teaches you how to teach the kiddos to ski. I can’t wait to teach her so she can enjoy the VT winters like we do.. riding chairlifts and enjoying the snow!

Please check out my blog: www.debholc.blogspot.com and I hope I inspired some of you to check out the slopes this winter! If you have any questions, please send them by way of comments on my blog!

Posted on December 13, 2012, in Fitness, New Activity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

