Adventuress skin care & a cute cat pic

I had the opportunity to test out Adventuress skin care sunscreen swipes and facial wipes this fall. Before I get into that, let me give you a quick background on the company.

Founded on the principle of providing active women with a simplified and protective skin care routine, Adventuress introduces a new skin care collection that is specially formulated to combat nature’s elements. Outdoors enthusiast and passionate motorcyclist, Michele Carter, founded Adventuress after years of experiencing firsthand how harsh winds and weather can easily damage skin. Inspired by her personal love for the outdoors, Carter spent years in research and development creating a revolutionary line of products that meet the needs of adventurous women everywhere. From this notion, Adventuress was born.

Made with the finest natural ingredients, Adventuress was designed for thrill-sealers with varying degrees of skin sensitivities and allergies. By combining some of the world’s most healing ingredients, Adventuress products are scientifically proven to protect, nourish, boost and restore your beautiful outer shield.

As someone with sensitive skin, I am always critical of new skin care products. I tend to err on the side of not using anything, over using something that is going to irritate my skin.

What initially drew my attention to the Adventuress line was that is was geared toward on-the-go AND active women. I believe those of us that are outside, braving the elements all year have much different skin care needs than those who remain indoors year round.

Adventuress has an entire line of products, but I had the opportunity to review their high performance sunscreen swipes and their fearlessly refreshing facial wipes. Both come in individual packets and are perfect for throwing in your purse, car or gym bag.

Let me begin with the sunscreen since I have been blessed/cursed with fair skin. I have always been one to wear sunscreen when I am outdoors, whether it is 100 degrees or the dead of winter. I have seen family members get skin cancer, and I don’t see the point in taking that risk, when it is easily prevented.

After slathering on a waterproof sunscreen with a SPF of 500, I am always left with “greasy” hands. I know you all know what I am talking about, if you have ever put on sunscreen. This isn’t such a problem when you are at home, but what about when you are out and reapplying (ex: middle of a century bike ride). You then have to try to wipe it off, but it inevitably ends up on your clothes, gloves, etc.

I’ve tried some of the spray options on the market, but I don’t think they do a great job of covering, unless you end up rubbing in with your hands, defeating the whole purpose. That is why I am in love with Adventuress sunscreen swipes.

These individual wipes contain a UVA/UVB sunscreen that is water-resistant and has an SPF of 30. How do they work? Each one has a finger pocket on one side and sunscreen on the other. You simply peel off the label and spread it on your body, as you normally would, but this time your hand is protected from the grease. In terms of the sunscreen itself, it did not irritate my skin. It also didn’t run when I sweat, which equals no burning in my eyes!

After using and liking the sunscreen, I couldn’t wait to try the facial wipes. I figured what better time then after a nice cyclocross, full of dust and mud and sand pits. Much like the sunscreen it comes in individual packages, so it was easy to throw in my race bag and have one handy for when I finished. When I opened the package, I was a little worried as the wipe had a fragrance to it. As I’ve said, my skin in sensitive, and I tend to have most of my issues with scented products.

I went ahead and tried the wipe, and I couldn’t believe at the amount of grime a 4×6 wipe was able to remove. I instantly felt fresher and my skin felt cleaner. I experienced no itching or burning immediately, but I was interested to see if I had any reaction throughout the day. To my relief, I experienced no side effects from using the facial wipe. Instead, I simply got clean skin that allowed me to continue on with the rest of my day, without pounds of dirt on my face.

So overall, I would say I am a fan of both of the products I sampled, and I am looking forward to trying others in the Adventuress skin care line. I will say, however, that I don’t plan to use the sunscreen swipes on a regular basis when I am applying sunscreen from home. I will use them as a to-go option for reapplying while I am being active, and because of their size they will fit perfectly in my bike bag, running pouch or anywhere else I may need them. Similarly, I don’t see myself using the facial wipes every day to wash my face, but I do plan to use them after races or training rides when I am out and about.

Disclosure: I was not compensated for this post, however I was supplied with swipes and facial wipes to review. Opinions are completely my own.

Who doesn’t love a cat in a box?

Posted on December 7, 2012, in Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Those wipes look so cool!! I’ve never seen those! I love it!! Happy Friday! Spa ❤

  2. Both wipes seem handy. I know I would be able to find a use for both of these before, during and after my workouts!

Leave a Reply

