Products I Love: Vita Coco Coconut Water

I know it’s been awhile since I have featured a product I love, but I am going to try to do a better job of bring these to you more frequently!

While participating in the Tour de Patrick in 2011, I was introduced to Vita Coco. They had samples to try and were giving away actual bottles of the stuff. I tried a sample of each flavor and gladly took a couple full size home with me. I had never tried coconut water before, so I had nothing to compare Vita Coco to, however, I definitely liked all of the flavors I tried.

Since that day, I have had the opportunity to try many different coconut waters on the market, but I keep coming back to Vita Coco. First and foremost for me, the flavor is the best of any I have tried. Some products I could barely choke down, others were good but just not quite the same, and some only came in original coconut flavor, whereas Vita Coco has many flavor options to chose from.

Just a few of their many flavors

So you may be wondering, what is coconut water for? Well, that is a good question. What initially caught my attention when I was first introduced to it was the fact that it has more potassium then 3 bananas! As someone who has always eaten a banana before races (growing up I’d make my mom stop at a grocery store on the way to a swim meet if we were out of bananas at home), this was definitely something I was interested in.

I also found they contain many electrolytes, zero fat, zero cholesterol and are gluten free and vegan approved. This means Vita Coco is great for pre-exercise, during exercise, recovery or adding to your favorite beverage or recipe. It also has a very light, refreshing taste, which I think is perfect on a hot summer day. Personally, I prefer to use it before exercise, as I think that gives you the most benefits, but it’s totally up to you.

Also, curious about their unique packaging, I found they use an eco and socially responsibly form of packaging. That adds another star in my book for the company. Regardless if you have tried other coconut waters or not, I highly recommend you give Vita Coco a chance. You can find it sold in many local grocery stores, but the cheapest place to buy it is on amazon.

About Crystal

I'm a professional archer who also enjoys participating in mountain biking, cyclocross, swimming and running races. I race more for the fun and excitement than for top places and awards (or at least I try!), and my true passion is coaching others. I have a weakness for ice cream and a good espresso. I love being outdoors, and my dream is to one day own 100 acres.

Posted on November 8, 2012, in Great Products, Nutrition and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

