Living Pink for Breast Cancer Awareness Month & Beyond

As October comes to a close, I felt I needed to speak up now before November hits and we all suddenly forget about breast cancer awareness. As I non betting person, I would put a lot of money on the fact that we all know someone who has battled with breast cancer. Part of the reason I believe this to be true is many have been lucky enough to survive their battle and continue to live their lives. Unfortunately, survival rates are not at 100%, but there is something we all can do to get survival rates up.

#1)As women we need to be participating in monthly self breast exams. No, it may not be fun, and I’m pretty sure no one WANTS to do it, but it is something we NEED to do, otherwise we are being selfish. Selfish??? Yes, I said selfish, which you may think is a little harsh, but I don’t. If a simple 5 minute exercise each month could save your life, why wouldn’t you do it? Why would you risk putting your friends and family through such a trying time, if you could avoid it with such a simple task?

What really amazes me is the lengths people go to hoping to add a month or a year to their lives, yet they don’t do something as simple as a breast exam each month. Who cares if you ate 500 vegetables a day, didn’t eat carbs and ran a marathon twice a week, if you have a lump that remains untreated those things won’t matter.

#2)Women & Men (yes men) over a certain age or with a family history need to have access to mammograms. There are many barriers, many financial that prevent this from happening and we as a community need to change this. Did you know that on average, mammography will detect about 80-90% of breast cancers in women without symptoms? This is one of the main reasons I am a huge supporter of the “bikes for boobs” organization (sister to barbells for boobs if you have ever heard of them).

If you are interested in supporting this organization, please visit this page for more info. I fully admit that I have slacked off on promoting this, but my goal is to raise enough money to provide 5 full screenings to individuals in need by the end of 2012.

#3)We can all be there for one another, raise awareness and support organizations that are looking for a cure. This month, I have made it my personal mission to buy as many of my purchases as possible from groups that support breast cancer awareness and research. Some of my fitness related purchases include:

It was time for me to get a new pair of running shoes.

Meredith Miller and Voler teamed up to put together this jersey

And the back of the jersey I raced in all month

A nice breakaway tshirt, also part of Meredith Miller’s campaign.

Haven’t bought, but would match my kit nicely 🙂

& the perfect complement

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Looking for other products that support breast cancer awareness, check out Self Magazine’s list of 55 pink products.

So to wrap up this post & the month of October, I challenge you to think about some of these issues. Will you continue to support this cause year round, not just in October? Will you right here and now pledge to perform self breast exams and/or make sure the women in your life do? If so, please comment below. In exchange I will put together a “living pink” fitness themed prize pack for one lucky reader. At the end of November I will randomly select one reader, entries will be based on 1)one entry for a voiced commitment in the comment section of this post and 2)one additional entry for every dollar you donate to my “bikes for boobs” fundraiser.

Posted on October 30, 2012, in Fitness, Great Products, Other and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Saw your spotlight on Kat’s blog so I wanted to stop by and say hi! Those pink Oakley’s are totally BA!!

  2. I commit to Live Pink! Sweat Pink, Live Pink! 🙂

  3. I absolutely commit to monthly self-breast exams AND to encourage all of the females in my life to do the same. The Susan G. Komen 5K Race for the Cure is my favorite race of the year… nothing like having all of that strength and inspiration by your side! Also participated in the 3-day walk in Boston and it was truly one of the most memorable events of my life! Love this post and all of the awareness you are bringing to what I consider to be such a great cause! XOXO SPA love

  4. I commit to monthly self-exams and to raising awareness about breast cancer year round!

  5. I commit to my monthly self exams, my regular yearly check ups, and to help raise awareness all year long!

  6. I commit to monthly self exams and to remind the women in my life of the importance of self exams.

  7. projectgirlgetfit

    I love the pink sunglasses and definitely commit to monthly self exams and raising awareness. It’s such a huge issue for me because my grandma and two of my aunts all fought breast cancer.

Leave a Reply

