Looking for a swim coach? & a winner announced!

I know some of you are here just to see if you won the free Bulu box…sorry you will have to wait, I’m not going to give you the answer until after you read my post 🙂

I’m not sure if it’s because triathlons are becoming more popular or if people are finally realizing what a great workout swimming can be, but I have seen more and more people asking for advice on swimming. I can’t tell you how truly excited this makes me feel. As much as I have grown to love other sports and fitness related activities, being in the water will always be the place I feel most comfortable and confident, my first love you could say. Because of this, I really wish I could swim more often. Unfortunately, until the YMCA gets built a couple towns over (keeps getting delayed due to not hitting fundraising goals), there really isn’t a good option for me, unless it’s summer time and I can swim in a local lake.

So, why am I posting about this? Well, I’d love to share my wealth of knowledge with my followers. Whether you are just beginning to swim or getting serious about competing at a top level, I would love to be a part of your journey. I had personal success as a swimmer, but my true passion lies on the coaching side.

I’ve taught swim lessons with individuals 6 months old-adults, I’ve coached country club, YMCA and Masters level teams, and I’ve even trained Ironman qualifiers. I have previously held coaching and lesson certificates, though I haven’t gone through the process of updating/renewing them.

So what does all this mean for you? First, I’d like to publicly answer some of your questions in regards to swimming. All you need to do is leave your question in the comment section or send me an email. Once I have a fair number of questions to respond to, I will put together a post to answer them for all of you.

But wait, it gets even better…I’d love to be your personal “coach,” whatever that means to you. And the best news (if you contact me now), it will not cost you a dime! Yes, as a thank you to my blog followers I am offering my services free to help you get whatever you want out of swimming. If you live local, I’d even be willing to do some 1-1 in person sessions with video, etc depending on our schedules. If this is something you are interested in, please email me, pm me on facebook or twitter, or leave a comment with your contact info.

And in case you forgot, the winner of the free Bulu box is…

BETHANY at Project WhiteSpace!!!

Posted on October 29, 2012, in Giveaway, Swimming and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I like to call myself a professional doggie paddler 😉 By the way you’re featured today!

  2. Yay!! I’m so happy to have won!!
    Now, I need to think of a swimming question–I’ve done three sprint triathlons and I plan on doing an olympic level next year, so give me a chance.

  3. You are great for offering this! My swimming question (okay 2): How do I start to enjoy swimming? and how do you make the transition from pool to open water without freaking out?
    I am a runner who has done one sprint tri and it took all I had to not have a full out anxiety attack during the swim 😦

  4. Good luck coaching! I hope you serve as a positive influence for many 🙂 Super cool way to make a difference.

Leave a Reply

