Oh where, oh where has my motivation gone?


Wow, I can’t believe it’s a new month already…October, 3 months left in 2012, where has the time gone? Or better yet, where has my motivation gone?

Earlier this year, I was fired up and ready to race. I had some setbacks, but I just re-upped my intensity and fought back. Lately, I feel like I am missing the extra to push myself. I know I am burnt out from “life” stresses, however, I know I need to find a way to get myself back on track and have a strong finish to the year, my sanity needs it.

So for October, I decided to be vocal with my goals for the month. Maybe this will give me what I need to kick myself in the butt and get going again.

October Goals
-sign up for 2-3 half marathons
-sign up for a full (May?)
-PR in one of my virtual 5ks
-complete weekly vlog
-lose 5 pounds
-find a way to better incorporate veggies into meals (if you have suggestions, please please share them…how do you trick your kids into eating them?)
-take idea to help newcomers and turn it into action items (stay tuned, I will be asking all of you for your help!)

Daily Goals (must be done 1xday, with the exception of 4 slips*)
-run at least a mile
-2 min plank (try for new record, 1xweek)
-take a photo
-try daily yoga pose

So there you have it. Hopefully October will be a new start for me and my motivation. I look forward to hearing about your goals for the month, so make sure to leave them in the comments section.

*4 slips total for the month is not about giving myself the freedom to make excuses or not take things seriously, but more of an opportunity to be realistic since I have multiple work trips during the month of October. Also these slips may be used in any combination, such as 1 day slipping on all 4 or 4 days slipping on just one. This is NOT 4 days where I can slip on all four items.

About Crystal

I'm a professional archer who also enjoys participating in mountain biking, cyclocross, swimming and running races. I race more for the fun and excitement than for top places and awards (or at least I try!), and my true passion is coaching others. I have a weakness for ice cream and a good espresso. I love being outdoors, and my dream is to one day own 100 acres.

Posted on October 1, 2012, in Fitness, Racing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Think of October as a fresh start. You can finish the year off strong and be ready for some new goals at the beginning of the year. Just because you had an off month don’t let it get to you.

  2. Great October goals, pretty girl!! I know you’ll be able to succeed! Happy Monday and spa love!

  3. Wow! Lots of goals and big ones too! I like that you have daily goals–I started doing that too this month, but only one goal: eat a salad a day. Whew–might sound easy to you, but hard for me. 🙂
    And I see you added a 2 minute pland a day. You already got a 7 minute award! You rock! I should start doing this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

