Guinea Pig Challenge: The Start

Yesterday, I happened to see fellow GGS and SPA (agirlrunner) had posted a blog post about a Guinea Pig Challenge. That of course caught my attention right away, so I had to read it to find out what this was about. What I found was exactly the challenge I need right now.

After slowly losing weight all year; both from increased high intensity workouts and better eating habits, the wheels fell off the track big time. As I mentioned, I took a much needed break (in a variety of ways) in August. Unfortunately, however, this included unhealthy eating. Work travel, family vacation and the fair, all led to some poor choices in food, along with roughly 8 pounds gained.

At first, I wasn’t too worried, thinking it was just a blip and I would quickly go back to my previous weight. This wasn’t the case and now half way into September I’ve been feeling stuck. I’ve been searching for something to kick my butt back in gear and get me back in the routine of healthy eating to go along with my fitness goals, which is where the guinea pig challenge comes in.

Starting today and continuing for 30 days I will simply:

Also, similar to agirlrunner, I will also consciously “be active” daily. I will give my current stats now, and then I will not update my stats again until the 30 days are up. I encourage anyone reading this to join us in this challenge, and see what change is possible in just 30 days!

Current Stats 9/17/12
Weight: 146.7
Hips: 37
Waist: 31
Chest: 38
Thigh: 21

About Crystal

I'm a professional archer who also enjoys participating in mountain biking, cyclocross, swimming and running races. I race more for the fun and excitement than for top places and awards (or at least I try!), and my true passion is coaching others. I have a weakness for ice cream and a good espresso. I love being outdoors, and my dream is to one day own 100 acres.

Posted on September 17, 2012, in Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

