What I wish I knew then

Big news, I got word yesterday that I had been selected as a sweat pink ambassador (SPA)! I’m really excited to be involved with such a great group of women, and I’ll be posting more about things later. For now, I want to share with all of you my first ever vlog. The SPA have come up with a weekly theme, and as this was week #1 I knew I had to jump right in.

The topic was: What’s the one thing you know now about health/fitness/working out that you wish you knew when you first started?

As someone who has been active all my life, I decided to take a slightly different approach and share things I would have liked to know going from casual workouts to training for a specific goal in mind (aka stepping it up to that next level). Hope you enjoy my vlog, and make sure you leave me feedback, including what you wish you would have known.

Eight Topic Areas from Video
1)You need something more then water to hydrate with, especially when sweating heavily to replace lost salt & avoid cramping
2)Sleep & Recovery are just as important as tough workouts; go easy when you are supposed to, so you can go hard when you need to
3)change takes time (remember the 6 week rule)
4)cyclists: buy a pair of bib shorts with a quality chamois and don’t wear underwear!
5)runners: get breathable, wicking socks along with properly fitted shoes
6)Buy a HR monitor and make it your friend
7)Chocolate Milk is an awesome quick & cheap recovery drink
8)Listen to your body & HAVE FUN!

About Crystal

I'm a professional archer who also enjoys participating in mountain biking, cyclocross, swimming and running races. I race more for the fun and excitement than for top places and awards (or at least I try!), and my true passion is coaching others. I have a weakness for ice cream and a good espresso. I love being outdoors, and my dream is to one day own 100 acres.

Posted on September 13, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Very good first vlog. I still have to do mine. 😦 where does the time go?

  2. Showing some sweat pink love! Good job on the vlog!

Leave a Reply

