Products I Love: Island Boost

I’ve discovered more and more people lately who, like me, aren’t a fan of gel/gu energy type products. After telling them about Island Boost, and finding out not one of them had ever heard of it before, I knew it was time to feature it as a product I love.

I first was introduced to island boost at a rock n roll marathon expo. They had a booth setup and were offering swaps of 1 competitors product for 2 of theirs. They had samples, and they encouraged people to use it in their training and provide feedback. I’m always one to try a sample, so I gave it a go. Immediately I was impressed. I could actually drink it like a drink, without the forced swallowing I must do with gels.

I did not have any gels to “trade in,” so I simply purchased a couple of their traditional 1oz packages (they also have a 2oz size specifically designed for cyclists), while my friend traded in the gu she had just purchased for some island boost. Not one for trying something new on race day, I did not use island boost during my half marathon the next day, and instead waited until I was home and on a training ride.

I was out on a typical sunday bike ride with my local club when I first used island boost. Just like the gels so many riders use, it was easy to store in my back pocket and take while on the go. Besides the consistency difference that initially had turned me on to island boost, I noticed how much I liked the flavor. I have found other products to either have too strong of a flavor or a very unnatural taste (too sweet, too fake, etc). Island boost’s taste was neither of these things. I felt like the taste was more of a hint of flavor then a bombardment, and it tasted very natural.

I didn’t have any side effects on the ride, and I felt strong throughout the entire 60+ mile ride. Overall, I felt that in terms of benefits, it provided the same (if not more) compared with my typical in ride fuel, so I decided to use it more often. Throughout the summer race season, I grew to love island boost as a great alternative to gels. I still use my chews and other supplements, but there is something to be said about not having to chew something in the middle of a race. I finally understood why fellow racers were so keen on gels in terms of delivery method.

In addition, I have had the opportunity to be a tester for 2 new flavors of island boost (strawberry/orange and blueberry/pomegranate). I can’t speak for the taste of the final products, as they made some changes based on the feedback from testers like myself, but I will say the product worked the same as the original. They both had a very drinkable consistency and provided the nutrition I needed to keep going.

For those of you sticking to a vegan diet or who need to steer clear of gluten, no worries, island boost has you covered. Also, I’ve found their website has a lot of information, including recipes and training help, along with testimonials. The owner/creator of island boost is a fellow athlete who simply created a product that filled a need she had as a runner. Much like the other products I love, Island Boost as a company is small, but effective. They have done the research to make a great product for all athletes, so I hope you take the opportunity to try island boost and see why I like it so much!

Nutrition Info

About Crystal

I'm a professional archer who also enjoys participating in mountain biking, cyclocross, swimming and running races. I race more for the fun and excitement than for top places and awards (or at least I try!), and my true passion is coaching others. I have a weakness for ice cream and a good espresso. I love being outdoors, and my dream is to one day own 100 acres.

Posted on September 10, 2012, in Biking, Great Products, Racing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

