Swimming, and Archery, and No Biking! Oh My!

Now that you have read all about my first swimming competition in something like 10 years, I figured I’d share my experience with a completely new (to me) sport. This past Sunday, Rich and I participated in my first ever 3D archery shoot, but first a little background…

Three or four years ago, on a whim, I purchased a hunting bow. I decided it was something I could practice in the yard and then I could go hunting with Rich. I used it a couple times, but as Rich wasn’t too into hunting anymore, it fell by the wayside for me. Then during all my olympic viewing, I got hooked on the archery. I don’t know why exactly, but something about it really intrigued me, so I decided it was time to dust off the old bow and get practicing.

The great thing about it, unlike biking and other things, Rich and I are able to go in the backyard for 30mins to an hour after work and get some shots in. Since we have been doing this a couple days a week for about 2 weeks, Rich asked me if I would be interested in testing my skills out in a competition. He explained a local club was having a 3D archery shoot on Sunday, which basically meant you walk through the woods, shooting at random 3D animal targets (at unknown distances). I said sure, why not. Much like with the swimming, I wanted to see if still had that competitive drive.

We arrived to a full parking lot, which got my juices flowing, as Rich had told me there were trophies to the winners in each category (including women). We took off down the path and Rich scored a 12 and me a 10 on the first animal, so we were off to a great start (basically points are 0,5,8,10,12 depending on where on the animal you land your arrow). Next animal I actually got a 12, which made me think, hey this isn’t too hard, I could actually win this thing!

Well the rest of the first half didn’t go quite as smoothly. I got a lot of 8s and 10s, but then I let my arm get in the way of the string, causing me a miss (0) AND a sore arm. After the first 15 animals, I was down by 10 to Rich and I was pissed. In the yard, shooting at a target, I was consistently able to beat him by a lot. I was really upset at myself for some of the mistakes I was making, especially because I didn’t want him to beat me. He could tell I was frustrated and told me I just needed to battle back in the second half. Well that is exactly what I did. I finished with no more misses and three 12s to beat him for the total 30 shots by 17!

alligator, can see scoring rings right behind front elbow

turkey-hen

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was now pumped to see how I did against the other women and see whether I would be going home with a trophy (actually a keychain that looked like a medal), but as we turned in our score cards, it became apparent there wasn’t a separate women’s division. I was bummed, but also excited that I had done so well for my first time. The man collecting the scores seemed impressed and even indicated I should probably shoot from the orange stakes next time (there are different color stakes to shoot from, similar to tees in golf).

So much like the swimming, I discovered that although I didn’t win, I still was able to have fun AND be competitive (I wasn’t even close to coming in last). I don’t like to lose and I want to win, but more importantly I just enjoy the thrill of competition. Now it’s time to figure out if biking and racing for me can also be fun, and I need to do this fairly quickly as cyclocross season is fast approaching.

shooting a 12!

 

About Crystal

I'm a professional archer who also enjoys participating in mountain biking, cyclocross, swimming and running races. I race more for the fun and excitement than for top places and awards (or at least I try!), and my true passion is coaching others. I have a weakness for ice cream and a good espresso. I love being outdoors, and my dream is to one day own 100 acres.

Posted on August 21, 2012, in Biking, Other, Racing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

