Products I Love: Leg Lube

Anyone who knows me, knows I have a strong aversion to shaving. I hate it, suck at it and I frankly just don’t get the point. I’d love to know who decided in their infinite wisdom that women should shave their legs!

Back on topic, I’m always looking for products that will make shaving easier, faster or require less time between shaves. Any product that claims to do 1 or more of these things, and I’ve probably tried it. In addition, I’m always looking for ways to shave OUTSIDE the shower, as I find shaving in the shower to be very difficult (one due to lack of proper lighting above our shower and two because its hard to keep the water completely out of your way).

Now I know not everyone feels the same way about shaving, but I do know my athletic friends are always looking for the cleanest shave possible. Whether in the pool or on a bike, men and women athletes alike want to have the least possible resistance on their bodies. Enter Leg Lube.

For size reference.

I first saw Leg Lube in Dirt Rag Magazine, in the “stuff we like” section. It sounded like it worked pretty well, and even better it “looked cool” in its chain lube like container. And as I mentioned before, I’m always willing to try new shaving products, so I decided to check out their website. They had quite a few testimonials on the site, the price seemed reasonable with only $5 shipping, so I figured why not give it a shot and ordered some.

I received an email from someone at the company, almost immediately, thanking me for my order, and the product came very quickly (I think it took only 2-3 business days). My initial reaction upon opening the box was, “Wow, it’s bigger then I expected.” The website clearly explains that the product is TSA carry on legal, so in my head I combined this info with the lube design and expected it to be roughly the same size as your standard chain lube bottle. Instead I was pleasantly surprised that it was actually closer in size to a standard computer mouse.

Next I twisted off the cap to get a whiff of the product, as I can be very finicky when it comes to scents. I don’t like products that are too strong, too fruity or just plain smell bad. Lucky for me leg lube hit the scent spot on. There is just enough of a scent and it has a sort of calming tone to it, that I think both men and women alike can appreciate it. I also happened to notice on the tube that leg lube was created by athletes, which was an added bonus in my book. I like companies that actually listen to those using their products, instead of just guessing at what we as consumers need/want.

It was now time for the shave test, and I figured I might as well jump to the tough one and use it out of the shower. Immediately I realized how little of the product you actually needed. Using just one drop (combined with some water), I was able to virtually shave an entire lower leg. I also noticed right away that unlike traditional shaving gels or creams, leg lube didn’t get all gunked up in my razor (another plus!).

While it wasn’t confirmed until days later when I still didn’t need to shave, using this product I felt like I was able to get a much closer shave. I also didnt have any irritation or razor burn, even though I wasn’t using a particularly fresh blade. I don’t know if it was the scent or something in the product, but after shaving, my legs felt great as well. They didn’t have a tingling feel exactly, but it was more of a rejuvenated feel (and my skin wasn’t all dried out!).

I only tried it on my legs, but leg lube is specifically formulated to be used anywhere on your body; arms, legs, chest, head, back and even bikini area. That makes me wonder, why is this product not being marketed towards swimmers (not just cyclists and triathletes)??? Thinking back to my days as a competitive swimmer and the “shaving parties” we had days before our big meets, this stuff would have been awesome to have! I especially think it would have been well received by the male swimmers, who just use what that girls provide and don’t always enjoy using raspberry or tropical island scented shaving creams.

After using this exclusively for a couple weeks, I am definitely sold. This product is great for athletes and non-athletes, males and females. It can be used as a typical shaving gel in your shower, or you can use it anywhere you have access to some water nearby (think camping, locker rooms, etc), which allows you to get creative. Leg lube comes in a convenient (and fun) bottle, which is perfect for throwing in a carry on, weekend bag, or even in your purse. And finally it is made in the good old USA, so go buy some today and find out what I am talking about!

About Crystal

I'm a professional archer who also enjoys participating in mountain biking, cyclocross, swimming and running races. I race more for the fun and excitement than for top places and awards (or at least I try!), and my true passion is coaching others. I have a weakness for ice cream and a good espresso. I love being outdoors, and my dream is to one day own 100 acres.

Posted on July 24, 2012, in Biking, Great Products, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

