Life is Good: The Town of Windham

Picking up where I left off in my last post:

After partially unpacking the car and grabbing some lunch, we headed over to the mountain. We were all excited to get on the course, but I was particularly excited as Rich kept telling me how much I would like the course.  Luckily most of the pros finished up before their allotted time, so we were able to jump on the course a little early. We did two easy laps, just to get the legs flowing and to see the course. It was in good shape, especially considering the town (and mountain) had been devastated by a hurricane just about 9 months ago. There definitely were some tricky sections for me, but overall I really enjoyed the course. I knew the  long climbing sections definitely played to my strengths, though I was wishing I had my April fitness back.

After showering, we headed out to grab some dinner at the local pub. I was VERY excited when I saw they had homemade rootbeer on the menu (with free refills)! I have always liked rootbeer, but ever since I tried real, homemade rootbeer out in Oregon, I fell in love with it. After dinner we went over to watch the “cross the pond” challenge, which was basically a bunch of boards placed on floating inner-tubes across the snow making pond. The local bike shop had bikes for individuals to try to “ride” across the boards to reach the other side. Most didn’t even make it a foot, but we did see one kid make it the entire way (after a couple attempts) and Adam Craig made it close to half way. It was fun to watch, even if we couldn’t get Tracy to participate.

We then headed back to Kelly Acres so we could relax before getting up early to preride the course again. We were just watching some tv and I realized I had forgotten something in the car, so I headed outside. I noticed a couple putting together their bikes, using just the headlights from their car. I figured they may want some more light, so I went over to see if they wanted me to turn my headlights on as well. They said thanks, but instead of light they could really use a spare bike part. I doubted we had one, but I said I would ask Rich.

In that split second I caught the face of the female and I knew I recognized her. She was wearing what I believe to be her “travel” red ride tshirt, so being the stalker that I am; I asked if her name was Allison. When she said yes, I was filled with excitement. This was the same pro that I had been following all year on her blog. The same person that gave me hope that one day I too could be “good” at mountain biking. I stood there getting eaten alive by mosquitoes, talking to her for a couple minutes, wanting to ask her all kinds of questions, but not wanting to come across as crazy. I knew they had to finish building their bikes, so I tried to keep things short and let them get back to work, but as I came back inside I was wired. I knew Allison and her husband Justin were going to be in Windham that weekend from reading her blog, and I had hoped to get the chance to meet her, but I mean what are the chances that she would be staying the same place as us! Needless to say, I didn’t sleep much that night.

After not getting enough sleep, it was time to get up and head to the course. After some not very good breakfast, we jumped on the course before anyone else. I definitely felt more confident in some of the sections I had struggled on the day before, but the heat was definitely getting to me (and it was only 8am!), and by the second lap I was struggling through some of the areas I had done with no problem the day before. We decided to cool down with a short spin on the road, but we were still in the blazing sun. My body was definitely overheating, so I grabbed a HUGE glass bottle of chocolate milk and sat indoors until I felt better.

Yes, I did drink the entire thing!

We basically chilled out the rest of the day, and then headed to the block party in town. We grabbed dinner beforehand and still had time to kill, so we played a round of mini golf. And guess what, I beat Rich! This has only happened once before (and twice we have tied), so I was pretty pumped about that. It took awhile for the block party to get going, and we were all pretty spent from the day, so we stayed to watch the trials stunt show then headed back.

Proof of my win (and by 2 strokes!)

About Crystal

I'm a professional archer who also enjoys participating in mountain biking, cyclocross, swimming and running races. I race more for the fun and excitement than for top places and awards (or at least I try!), and my true passion is coaching others. I have a weakness for ice cream and a good espresso. I love being outdoors, and my dream is to one day own 100 acres.

Posted on July 3, 2012, in Biking, Mountain Bike, Other, Racing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

