Taking it’s Toll

I could say life is taking a toll on my racing, or just the opposite. Either way, though, I feel caught between two competing worlds and unfortunately my family and friends are the ones that are paying for it. I am so insanely busy these days that I completely forget to send cards for birthdays, call close friends to “check in” or respond to emails that don’t need an immediate response. I’m not even a quarter of the way through the race season, and yet I feel completely overwhelmed already.

Take this week for instance. I raced (or should I say beat myself up) for almost 2 hours, then hoped on a plane the next morning for Florida. My sisters 20th birthday was also Sunday and not only did I forget ahead of time to mail her anything, I completely forgot to call her Sunday after the race. Yes, I can make excuses about how tired and beat up I was, but ultimately I let her down.

I spent the entire Monday morning flight finalizing my presentation for the next day. This was my first “keynote,” and it was for an international conference being held in the US for the first time ever, so I had to make sure it was good. I arrived in florida to pouring rain and high winds, so I couldn’t even go for a quick walk outside to get settled in. I attended the activities for that day, did a run through of my presentation and before I knew it, it was almost 11pm. I was up the next morning by 5 (= less than 6 hrs of sleep), did one last practice for that mornings keynote and got some breakfast.

Trying to stay up on all of the conference activities; cocktail receptions, presentations, trade shows, etc is tiring work as it is, but I tried to throw in interval training and healthy eating into the mix. On top of this, I feel like my head has been in a fog for weeks now. Working at home is great in terms of giving me some extra time and frees me from the office politics/drama, but it also means I can interact with other humans less (besides through training).

Basically, I don’t know how pro athletes travel (especially by plane) regularly and still compete at the level they do. Flying completely wipes me out, no matter how I feel prior. While travelling you typically get less sleep, and for me this is a huge problem. I NEED a minimum of 8 hrs a day, as much as I try to tell myself otherwise. On top of this you add the limited selection of food choices when you travel, and I just really give pro athletes a lot of credit. I mean I was sick of the same “healthy” options at every meal, after just 2 days of travelling, imagine this for weeks at a time.

So what am I trying to say here, besides rambling on. I think I need to slow down and really enjoy the experiences I am having. I truly am blessed with the opportunities I have, and I am healthy enough to enjoy them. Instead of counting down the number of races I have left to finish this year (11) and watching the spring and summer pass me by, I need to try to focus on the present. Yes, things are crazy and hectic and it is tough to keep up with it all, but I can and will make it to the fall. So any friends or family members reading this that feel like I have gone off the deep end, you are probably right and for that I apologize.

About Crystal

I'm a professional archer who also enjoys participating in mountain biking, cyclocross, swimming and running races. I race more for the fun and excitement than for top places and awards (or at least I try!), and my true passion is coaching others. I have a weakness for ice cream and a good espresso. I love being outdoors, and my dream is to one day own 100 acres.

Posted on May 3, 2012, in Biking, Other, Racing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Doing well my friend.. keep it up.. great writing as well for an economost anyway

Leave a Reply

