Products I Love: Polar Bottles

Have you been looking for a good quality water bottle? One that keeps drinks cold even on those blazin hot days, comes in great colors and designs and is pretty inexpensive? Then head here right now. Polar bottles are a personal favorite of mine, and not just because their products are great. Much like the other companies I’ve discussed, I really like Polar for their customer service, commitment to the community, and their innovation.

Currently polar’s insulated bottles come in 12, 20 and 24 oz sizes. I have not tried the 12oz bottle yet, as these are brand new, but I am sure they are just as great as their older siblings. Polar designed these 12oz bottles specifically for runners and children. Both the 20 and 24oz size bottles fit on most bikes. The one exception is if you have a small frame size, you may not be able to fit two 24oz bottles. The easy solution to this, however, is to carry a 20 and 24 oz bottle like I do. Polar also has a variety of non insulated bottles, but because I have never personally used them, I will limit my discussion to their insulated ones.

24oz and 20oz bottles

Let me start with why I like their bottles so much. I personally don’t live in a hot climate, but I definitely like to keep my drinks cold, no matter what the temps outside. There is nothing worse then being on a long bike ride and taking a swig of warm water…far from refreshing. That’s why polar bottles are so great. I have used them for over 10 years now, and I can honestly say I have not found a similar product that keeps my drinks cold even half as long.

See the nice igloo design inside the bottle? That's what keeps your drinks cold.

Not only are polar bottles great at regulating temperature, they also look good too. Obviously, they have your standard solid color bottles, but I love that in the last couple years they have really begun to branch out and get creative. They offer special limited edition bottles, typically for holidays or special occasions, but they also have animal prints, kid designs, etc. Basically, there is a bottle for everyone, no matter what your preference. With such a large selection of colors, you are guaranteed to find a bottle to match your bike or your favorite kit!

Got this and the matching 20oz bottle for Valentine's day last year.

Lots of colors and designs!

Another great feature of the polar bottle is the bottle itself. It has an ergonomical shape, which makes it easy to grab a hold of. As someone with small hands, I can find it difficult to grip other bottles while riding (especially if wet). With polar bottles, I have never had this issue. One complaint I have heard from people regarding the bottles shape is that it makes it hard to squeeze. My answer to that is, that’s the great thing, you don’t need to squeeze the bottle to get water out. I think people are too accustomed to old school bottles, that they don’t know what to do with these smartly engineered ones when they first try them.

For anyone still on the fence about polar bottles (though I can’t figure out why you would be), polar allows for both personalization and full customization of their bottles. For a couple bucks, you can personalize any bottle in their store. Basically this is a monogram with some basic choices of fonts, logo, etc. On the other hand, if your business is sponsoring an event, or your team wants official “team” water bottles, polar has a great customization program. Their prices for custom bottles are crazy good, and they allow you FULL control over every part of your bottles. You can upload team/sponsor logos, add phrases, create design templates, you name it. Even better, unlike most bottle manufacturers that require large minimums like 500 bottles, polar will do as little as 10 (with a note for less than 10 to contact them).

Bolder Cyclocross Race (from Polar fb page)

Polar Plunge benefiting Alzheimer's (taken from Polar fb page)

Finally, to top things off, polar is a create company to work with. They are happy to help if you have a problem, and they gladly accept suggestions and feedback to help improve products. Want them to carry something they don’t currently carry, just shoot them an email and there is a good chance your wish could become reality. In addition to their great customer service, polar as a company really cares about athletes and the sporting community. I consistently see polar sponsoring events (though more out west then locally). Sometimes it as simple as sending some bottles to a race, other times its creating a bottle just for an event, giving the proceeds to the organization in charge. Overall, polar is out there to make our lives a little easier, even if its something as simple as giving as a cold sip on a hot day!

If you’ve tried polar bottles, feel free to leave a comment below. Do you love them as much as I do?

About Crystal

I'm a professional archer who also enjoys participating in mountain biking, cyclocross, swimming and running races. I race more for the fun and excitement than for top places and awards (or at least I try!), and my true passion is coaching others. I have a weakness for ice cream and a good espresso. I love being outdoors, and my dream is to one day own 100 acres.

Posted on April 27, 2012, in Great Products, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Cool… or is it now kewl… perhaps both in this case….

  2. Thank you for the wonderful review!

  1. Pingback: Products I Love: Nuun « Crystal Gauvin

Leave a Reply

