Putting in the Time

Even though I’ve been swamped at work and feel like I’m running in a hamster wheel where I’ll never get caught up, I know it’s important for me to get my training in if I want to have a successful season on the bike. This past week was a true test to this.

Each night I was so drained from work the last thing I wanted to do was hop on the trainer. I’m happy to report that not only did I get on the bike each night I was supposed to, but I also managed to push Rich into finishing one of the tough workouts when he was ready to quit after 4 of 6 intervals. I also finished a 2.5 hour mountain bike ride on Saturday, while still feeling good.

Sunday was a little tougher as it was Easter and my head told me I just wanted to lay in bed and relax, not hop on a bike for a couple hours before lunch with Rich’s family. As much as I didn’t want to, I did go and while it wasn’t the best ride (knees were definitely hurting, esp on the climbs), I did manage to finish. When I uploaded my file I realized that I had just hit my record number of hours in a week for this year!

What a great feeling to know that my dedication had paid off. I’m hoping for another record setting week this week before two weekends of racing to finish out April. My hope is that I can continue to add miles as we get extended daylight, and I will continue to see improvements due to my hardwork.

About Crystal

I'm a professional archer who also enjoys participating in mountain biking, cyclocross, swimming and running races. I race more for the fun and excitement than for top places and awards (or at least I try!), and my true passion is coaching others. I have a weakness for ice cream and a good espresso. I love being outdoors, and my dream is to one day own 100 acres.

Posted on April 9, 2012, in Biking. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

