Products I Love: KT Tape

Have you ever tried KT tape? If you have chronic injuries or pain when you workout, I highly suggest you visit their website now!

For me, my knees in particular have given me trouble over the years. I’ve tried physical therapy, had knee surgery, done extra stretching, etc but nothing really got me over the simple statement, I have bad knees. Running in particular was always more of a challenge, as I never felt like I had much support in the knee area. I tired various braces, different shoes, but again I never got over the feeling that I was severely knock kneed.

So you are probably thinking, if I went to physical therapy and tried lots of other things, how have I not tried some type of kinesiology tape before.  Well, I have…BUT. Whenever I have previously used these type of tapes, they come off right away. I don’t know what exactly it is about my skin they don’t like, but usually within minutes of putting it on, at least one piece would start coming up at the edges. And forget trying to workout with it, once I started to sweat it would simply fall right off. Again, I tried different methods for attaching and none produced a long lasting stick on my legs.

Enter, the new PRO KT tape. This stuff is miraculous! Not only does it really work, but it stays on FOREVER. In fact, it almost sticks too well bc it can be somewhat difficult to get off, if you don’t want to leave it on long term.

Ok so what is so great about it you want to know? Well a teammate recently described it perfectly.  She said its like a bra for your knee. When you take it off, you want to put it back on bc you feel like you just lost your support.  Honestly, I can’t describe it any better then she did.

Also, KT tape is for a lot more then just your knees. That’s one of the great things about it, it is so versatile, you can virtually use it anywhere. Achilles or ankle problems, back strains, elbow pain…you name it, this stuff can be used on it.  In fact, the website does a great job of listing close to 100 different ailments and giving instructions on how to wrap the tape to fix/correct the problem. Speaking of their website, it is a great resource with instruction videos, a blog and a lot of just helpful information for active people.

Finally, this stuff comes in great colors. You can get KT tape in your team colors, you can mix and match, or they do sell just a basic beige to match skin tones if you like to be boring. Personally, I love the blazing orange, which has the added bonus of showing up nicely at night.

Basically, the way I look at it is, I can try to explain to you all the great feature of KT tape and why I love it, but I honestly think it’s one of those things you have to experience for yourself before you really get it.  If you have suffered from pain during exercise or simply feel like you have weaker areas on your body, then I suggest you give KT tape a try. You wont be disappointed!

About Crystal

I'm a professional archer who also enjoys participating in mountain biking, cyclocross, swimming and running races. I race more for the fun and excitement than for top places and awards (or at least I try!), and my true passion is coaching others. I have a weakness for ice cream and a good espresso. I love being outdoors, and my dream is to one day own 100 acres.

Posted on March 22, 2012, in Great Products and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

