Products I Love: RoadID Edition

This is post #1 of what I hope to make a weekly series. I’ve decided that instead of reviewing various products (you can all find those elsewhere on the web), I’m going to focus my time and energy on giving you a list of what I consider to be companies and/or products that go above and beyond. These aren’t just good or great products, these are TOP NOTCH and CAN’T BE BEAT, according to my book. Feel free to agree or disagree, but I feel so strongly about each product that I am choosing, that I highly doubt you will be disappointed.

So you may be wondering, which company or product did I choose to feature first?

RoadID
If you aren’t familiar with their products, please click HERE now and take a look.

Let me start by telling you a little story. While I was in grad school, my then boyfriend decided to buy his first road bike. His birthday was shortly after, so my mom purchased him a gift certificate to RoadID. As someone who is very active and involved with a lot of group clinics, training sessions races, etc, she knew the importance of having an id on you. Well long story short, he didn’t use the gift certificate right away, then we got engaged and I was graduating sooner then expected, so we figured it was best to wait to order the id until we knew where we were going to be living (this was before they offered the interactive version).

Fast forward two years; we now own a house and I have a road bike. Of course my mom, concerned for our safety asks if I have gotten a RoadID yet, which reminds us we never did use my husband’s gift certificate. Needless to say, by this time the gift certificate is no where to be found. Now in this day in age of expiring gift cards and strict store policies, I thought we were just out of luck. We decided to go ahead and order a tradition wrist id sport for each of us.

Instead of ordering online, I decided to call and see if by some random stroke of luck, they would be able to let me use the now 4 year old missing gift certificate with our order (yes, it was a crazy idea, but I figured it didn’t hurt me to try). Well much to my surprise, not only did the customer service rep not laugh in my face when I explained I wanted to use a lost g.c, but he actually said it should be no problem to look up the code. Seriously, I said??? Yes, he just asked the name of the person who purchased it. Lucky for me this was easy, since it was my mom. He pulled up her account quickly and was even able to give me the exact date it was purchased. He then asked me if I would like the code over the phone or if I wanted an email sent to me. I explained that I was placing an order, so there was no need for me to be given the code.

So why this long, drawn out story you ask? Well I think it illustrates their willingness to go above and beyond for their customers. Even if they COULD look up the g.c, if they told me no it wasn’t possible or it had been too long of a time period, I would have simply said ok and they would have gotten more money from me. I think it is very rare these days to find companies that really do value their customers and treating them fairly.  Add this to the fact that they actually have great products, makes purchasing a RoadID a no brainer for me.

Not only do their products work great for athletes who may be out on the road or in the woods training and risk injury, but they are great for kids, elderly and non-athletes alike. Especially with their new line of slim ids, they have so many choices for types of ids, I see no reason why everyone out there shouldn’t own one. Yes, you may be lucky enough to never need it, but wouldn’t you hate to need it and not have it?

As I mentioned I started with the traditional sport id for my first RoadID. I put it on whenever I biked, ran, etc and it worked great. However, I sometimes forgot to put it on and the more I thought about it, I thought it made sense to have a more permanent option. Checking out their website, I noticed they had a new product, so I opted for this new slim wrist id, which I could wear 24/7 without ever having to take it off. I ended up not being sure which size band to order (as these are specifically sized based on your wrist and I was between sizes). I called up customer service and they were extremely helpful in making a recommendation. Then they went even further and said if I was not happy with the size selected to call back and they would send me a replacement band of the other size free of charge.

Overall, I guess what I am trying to say is you can’t go wrong with purchasing from RoadID. Their customer service is exception, their products actually save lives, and they offer plenty of styles and color options to choose from.

About Crystal

I'm a professional archer who also enjoys participating in mountain biking, cyclocross, swimming and running races. I race more for the fun and excitement than for top places and awards (or at least I try!), and my true passion is coaching others. I have a weakness for ice cream and a good espresso. I love being outdoors, and my dream is to one day own 100 acres.

Posted on February 23, 2012, in Great Products and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

