Change of Plans

As a new year begins, I’ve had to re-prioritize my goals and training plans for 2012. As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I was planning to do one R&R 1/2 marathon each month (one being a full marathon). For a variety of reasons I’ve had to shift my focus back to cycling or this year. What are those reasons (not in any specific order):

1)I’ve been disappointed and let down by the competitor group, which runs the rock and roll events. It has become clear to me that they care more about bringing in as much money as possible than the safety and enjoyment of their participants. From what I’ve witnessed, they have taken what was a great experience for all (created by elite) and turned it into a purely profit machine. At the end of the day, they do not care about you bc they know hundreds of thousands of people will sign up next year. They let me and so many others down this year, including putting us in harms way, that I do not feel I can support them anymore.

2)Accident. After getting rear ended coming home from work dec 15th, I’ve been forced to side line most physical activity until my back and knee improve. Running is definitely off the table for the time being and most likely will be the last thing Im given the ok to do. This means AZ is almost definitely out in a week and a half, unless I’m told I can walk it. The travel has already been booked for this trip (and vacation after), so only reason still even considering. St Pete in Feb and DC full in march are out as I’m not going to pay and travel for something I either have to walk entirely or haven’t been training for. That brings me to April and already into Q2 for the year, so my original goal is already shot.

3)Some of you may not agree with me on this reason, but I think it is just as important as the first two. Rich. What do I mean by this? Well he has supported me with my running this past year, but was disappointed when he heard I was continuing into 2012. He really wants to see me improve and focus on the bike, so we can do more together. I’m not talking we spend every waking hour together and have no hobbies apart, but I do mean spending quality time outside of work together. We both originally got into biking as something for us to do together, yet, as he has gotten pretty good relatively easily it has instead pulled us apart. He’s been forced to decide between doing a group ride (that I can’t hang on) or skipping it to be with me, which isn’t fair to him.

All in all, these are the 3 main factors that made me change my plans for the year and re-retire from running. I still plan to do the local holiday 5ks with friends, short trail runs on pretty days, maybe even one half marathon, but I will not be training specifically for running this year.

Instead, my goal is to become a cyclist. This means learning how to RIDE my mountain bike, instead of running it half the way; being competitive (at least top 3/4ths) in NE cyclocross races; and going on group rides or rides with Rich without feeling like I’m always the one holding everyone back.

About Crystal

I'm a professional archer who also enjoys participating in mountain biking, cyclocross, swimming and running races. I race more for the fun and excitement than for top places and awards (or at least I try!), and my true passion is coaching others. I have a weakness for ice cream and a good espresso. I love being outdoors, and my dream is to one day own 100 acres.

Posted on January 6, 2012, in Biking, Other. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

